Ok, so here’s something that’s been on my mind all day. I was listening to the radio at work (kLove radio – link on the left side of this page) when I heard a mention of a group of evangelical people taking a biblical stand against pollution and global warming. This group of people includes Rick Warren, mega-church pastor and author of the Purpose Driven Life, but not Focus on the Family’s Dr. James Dobson (surprising? Not really).


The movement is called Creation Care and its main purpose is to educate people with biblical truths on what our role is as humans on the earth God gave us. It’s something I’ve been saying for a while now, but had no idea that others had vocalized it already. I believe that being aware of what the state of earth is and doing what we can to preserve it is important. It’s something that God has put us in charge of (when He made adam in charge of everything on the earth) and it seems like it’s so often overlooked by my fellow Christians (and apparently by Dobson, too – I hoped he’d know better). Good stewardship is often talked about in churches, but I have yet to hear anyone include our responsibility to the earth. I’m glad to see there is a movement out there called What Would Jesus Drive? It’s not meant to be disrespectful at all although it seems to me like I’ve read that bumper sticker somewhere else before and thought it was disrespectful. I suppose you’d have to know what they stand for to understand it.

Newsweek had a story on this called God’s Green Soldiers. I wish I knew if there was a list out there I could sign and be proud to be a member of. I’d gladly answer any questions people may have about why I chose to be represented by this group’s point of view and actions. In the same article, I can’t believe Dobson was quoted saying, “the global-warming science is inconclusive and the issue doesn’t belong on the evangelists’ agenda. It’s a distraction when families are falling apart and abortion continues as a great evil.” Are you kidding me? It’s a ‘distraction’ to think that what you do today will affect how your kids and grandkids will live tomorrow? It’s a ‘distraction’ to be good stewards of what God has placed us in charge of? I think being a ‘good and faithful servent’ has a lot more to do with everything God has asked of us, not just what we’d like to think is more important at this point in time.

Here’s another article I can’t believe I read from Benny Hinn. Here is a quote: “Global warming is not a consensus issue, and our love for the Creator and respect for his creation does not require us to take a position.” Doesn’t it though? When has our God been a God of lukewarmness? When has our God been a God of “yeah, ok whatever. We’ll take a stand when we see how the cookie crumbles.” Never! It’s not just ‘respect for creation’ we should have, but we should feel a responsibility to take good care of the earth and to teach our kids and friends and family and neighbors to be good stewards also, of what our Lord has given us. How can we be a good example to others always if we don’t give two hoots about what we’re doing to the earth?

It saddens me, really. To hear these staments. So I’ve decided to get a bumper sticker or something like that so I can spread the knowledge. What would Jesus drive, then? I don’t think he would. I think he’d walk or ride a bike. It’s a more personal, less destructive way of getting around. And I know he’d want to stop and talk with lots of people on the way. Cars have made us less social like that.

Despite everything that seems to be obviously pointing us towards what we need to do (or at least what we should be aware of) there are still some people out there that are missing the point completely. Please don’t be swayed by their lies. Open your eyes to what’s going on around you, and do your part to take care of our earth.

