“Seven weeks after the second day of Passover is the festival called Shavuoth, Feast of Weeks, or Pentecost. Shavuoth celebrates the first fruits of the wheat haravest… There is still another significance associated with this time in the late spring. It came to be recognized as a memorial to the revelation of the Torah, God’s gift of the Ten Commandments ata Mt. Sinai, on the fiftieth day after the Israelites were led out of Egypt.” (Martha Zimmerman*) Also on the fiftieth day, the Holy Spirit came down on the apostles and the church and “those who accepted his message were baptized, and about three thousand were added to their number that day.” Acts 2:41

This afternoon I went to a Global Day of Prayer celebration in a church down my street. It was such a blessed event! I haven’t worshipped like that in such a long time. My soul was worshipping non-stop and recieving blessings throught the evening!! There were several different churches represented and several different countries also with missionaries from those countries and to those countries. It was amazing! I heard such a beautiful Korean choir and there was worship in Spanish (which I haven’t done in a few years!) It was amazing! We prayed for the youth of our counties, for the college population, we prayed for the missionaries from other countries in their native languages and we prayed for the missionaries going to foreign countries. We recieved blessings for our own county and we joined in prayer with nations all around the world as they celebrated the Global Day of Prayer along with us. What a blessing! I’m still rejoicing. :) I’ll not forget this day and I wish I had pictures or more descriptive words to explain this event tonight to share with everyone. All I can say is, amazing! Have a blessed Shavuoth, Pentecost Day and Global Day of Prayer!!

