Yesterday I got a letter from my doctor telling me what the results of my heart monitor tests were. Apparently everything is well and there’s nothing to worry about. All I have are a few benign bursts of extra heart beats and short episodes of tachycardia. I need to lay off the caffeine (I did that once for three months cold turkey so I know I can do it again) and not take cold medicines with pseudoephedirne type drugs. He also gave me the option of trying out some medication to supress the extra heart beats but I don’t want to be medicated for the rest of my life so I don’t think I’m going to go for that. I figure that the tachycardia is caused by my anxiety and if I can learn to control the anxiety I should start feeling less and less of it.

Last night I didn’t get to sleep until sometime around 3:00 am because I kept having episodes of tachycardia. It was making me very nervous not being able to sleep so I took my stress-relieving pill. Right before I finally fell asleep I remember nodding off at least twice and having the sensation that my heart was falling (think of being on a roller coaster). It was pretty scary but I was so sleepy that I remember not feeling scared, just thinking it was scary. This same not-being-able-to-sleep-until-early-morning has happened to me once before. I wonder why and what causes it.

On another note, dh’s parents are coming over this weekend (Sun night) for a few days and I’m very excited about it. I’m planning on things we can do and places we can go. I wish I had more time off work (this is why I like working part-time) but I have so much to do there next week. I hope that we have a nice time together and that it doesn’t turn sour because of their special gift of getting on each other’s nerves easily. Hopefully it won’t. Having family over should always be a happy time I think.

