It’s early October and fall is finally in the air. The trees are dotted with red and golden and the sidewalks are littered with their remains. I think the weather is going to stick this time, despite last week’s final attempt at summer weather. I am coming to love this time of year more and more (now that I’m no longer in school!) as I get older; or maybe it’s that I am appreciating it more. Either way, Fall couldn’t have begun on a better day – Yom Kippur.

In the Jewish faith the 10 days before Yom Kippur, beginning with Rosh Hashanah, mark the creation of the world. They believe that the Earth was created that week and on the 10th day, Yom Kippur, they observe the Day of Atonement. God had told Moses that on this day the people would repent and turn to him and the high priest will offer a sacrifice as atonement for all of Israel’s sin.

To us believers the holidays are still of significant meaning. On Rosh Hashanah we remember that the earth was made and all that is in it, but we sinned against our creator and are in need of redemption. At Yom Kippur we remember that God provided his son Jesus, who died to become the atoning lamb, the final sacrifice to redeem us from our sins and become the mediator between us and our creator. And we are thankful. We take this time especially to draw ourselves closer still to God, thankful that through Jesus, the atoning lamb, we are able to do so. And we look forward to His triumphant return.

What a great way to remember!

Last week also marked the beginning of A Bird’s Eye View of the Bible, the Bible study in which I took part last year. I’m so excited to be participating in it again! I only wish my mom and sister could also come with me. I know they’d both love it.

Also happening this time of year is the hustle and bustle of early Christmas shoppers. I think it’s a growing trend to not be shopping the night before. Already the stores are stocked with several holiday items. I’m glad not to take part in it, though. I think the holidays have become too commercialized and people forget to remember the true meaning of their celebrations. So this year my husband and I have decided to buy locally made gifts and also to make our own gifts. They would be more special & personalized that way and as a side benefit it keeps the local merchants in business instead of feeding the big, global, pay-our-workers-next-to-nothing, outsourcing corporations. And that makes us happy.

On another note, I have to take my insurance licensing exam by November so hopefully I”ll be licensed soon! ☺

