Oregon’s finally turning gray and rainy. I need to get myself a new umbrella for it, but otherwise I’m well prepared for the rains. There is comfort in knowing the seasons are coming and going just as they should.


Gray Day
The rainy day as seen from our bedroom window

So what do you do on gray, cold, wet days? Cook! :)

pie
This is a Cheddar Apple Pie I made a few nights ago. It’s from a recipe I found in a local newspaper and since I’d never even heard of the idea of combining cheddar cheese and apple pie I thought I’d be crazy enough to try it. Well as you can see (and not to toot my own horn) not only did it look delicious, it also happened to taste as good. (Thank goodness!) So I took the pie to work and it was mostly gone by the time I went home. :)

cooking olluquito
And this is when dh came by while I was cooking Olluco (Peruvian dish of dried potatoes) to check if the camera’s batteries were working. They were.

While we’re on the subject of food, lately I’ve been making soups. So far my favorite for the season is Butternut Squash Soup, which is really easy to make and is inexpensive (because it’s in season!). Next on the list: pumpkin soup, broccoli soup, spinach soup, asparagus soup (which I haven’t made in a while). All of these are creamy and perfect for a cold day.

Besides, there’s little better than to curl up on the couch or in bed with a bowl of soup, a blanket and a remote control for a couple hours. A good chick-flick and a hot tea to top it off… there’s just hardly anything better!

