Wednesday evening I attended a Soroptimist International meeting in our local country club. I had heard of them through my co-worker, who is the president of Albany’s S.I. She’s always saying good things about it, so I decided to check out the one where I live (that, and I need to be involved in an organization like this to help with my insurance job search). The name Soroptimist means “best for women” so ther purpose is to help women in the community and around the world.

I arrived close to an hour early accidentally, so I had plenty of time to talk with a few of the girls already there. I met a girl named Katie and a girl named Carrie who seem to be very involved and passionate about the club. They asked if I wanted to help them stuff some envelopes, so I did and through helping them I got to know them a little better.

Soon after more people began to arrive and I could tell that this was a diverse group. There were women of all walks of life there, and it seemed very generational. The meeting itself was informative and I got to see two women go through the joining ceremony. They each got a bar of chocolate, among other things. I’d join just for that!

Overall it sounds like something I want to do and I hope that I am able to go through the joining process quickly.

