Everyone talks about making resolutions for the new year. I’m not too into that, and seeing as to how almost no one I know keeps resolutions (including myself) I have decided to take a different route. I came across this blog through a devotional I receive from Proverbs 31 Ministries, and I read this post in which she describes her goals for 2008. I love the idea of having goals to achieve instead of resolutions to keep, so I have gone along with this idea in this post.

Include exercise in each and every day. This is going to be challenging for me because, well, I am not an exerciser. Not that I have anything against it, or those who do it, but I just don’t like being sweaty and out of breath! Nevertheless, I’m going to try to introduce it back into my days so that I don’t balloon and look more vertically-challenged than I already am.

Make a daily habit of having a morning quiet time. I’m pretty bad when it comes to carving out time for the Lord and often find myself late at night reading my Bible, or not getting to it at all. I know it’s most beneficial to do this in the morning so I’m really going to strive to do that on a daily basis. This, of course, includes careful planning the night before so that I get enough sleep to actually be awake early enough the following morning. I’ve been known to hit the snooze one too many times, leaving me with just enough time to run out the door. Alas, I have done a good job of keeping up with this the last few days.

Eat at least three home-cooked meals a week. The last few weeks I’ve gotten a little lazy with the home-cooking and have opted to eat out one too many times with the hubby. Cannot be good for either the waist or the wallet, so I’m really going to strive to cook at least three times a week. The other nights we can have left-overs, and maybe once go out to dinner or just graze as we sometimes do. That’s still terrible isn’t? Well, maybe I’ll up it to FOUR home-cooked meals a week. We’ll try that and if I am comfortable doing that I’ll up it again.

Be a better housekeeper. My house is in decent shape most of time, but I’m really gonna go for the gold here and try to keep up with household things a little better. I’m sure my husband will enjoy it, and I know it’ll give me more peace of mind. This means I’m gonna have to make myself a weekly housekeeping schedule to fit in with everything else I have going on. Great, I guess that’s the next one.

Get more organized! This will especially impact our office. I’m going to keep up with the paperwork better and make a weekly or monthly schedule of tasks that need to be done to keep up with everything.

Carve out more time for my business. I have been absolutely terrible about making time to do my home-based business. Absolutely terrible. My goal is that when I accomplish the above goal I’ll find a way to include at least 10 hrs a week for my business.

Bike-commute at least 75% of the time. With my new job that is more simple since I am now in the same city, it’s a straight-shot from home (pretty much) and they even give you an incentive for bike-commuting. All I need now is the motivation to actually DO IT, which would mean going without the heater in the morning and the shelter from the elements! But I can handle that as long as I dress warm and wear something waterproof.

That’s most of them, but if there’s anything else that comes to mind I’m going to add it here. 

 Keep me accountable (with love, of course)!!

