VeilsWhen I was younger, my family went to visit a few churches. Sometimes my dad was the guest minister/pastor of a “campanha” but other times I think we went as real guests – no strings attached. I remember a few of the churches we visited had some customs I was not used to seeing. For instance, in one church the women and the men sat in different sections. I’m not sure just how Biblical these traditions are, but there is one custom that I always thought was beautiful, even if I was a little weary of it at first. That is, women wearing headcovers or veils at church. It had an aura of reverence, not to mention it made the women look so beautiful and feminine. I asked my mom, of course, why they were wearing “those things” on their heads and her answer to me was that some people wore them as a symbol of being under authority and that some Christians wore them and others didn’t. Obviously we were in the latter category. I don’t remember much else being offered as an explanation, but I pretty much figured that was the end of the conversation. We didn’t – they did. That’s just the way it was, and up until recently has been.

Lately though, I’ve been looking (or perhaps I’m being led?) further into these practices as they relate to the Bible. For instance, is it an act of obedience? Was it no more than a cultural thing back then? Is it only to be worn at church? Is it legalism? There are so many questions. I purchased recently an ebook that talks about the headcoverings. So far it sounds really interesting and promises to be full of information. I think between my own “research”, prayer and speaking with other godly people I will find an answer. One thing I do wonder is, “why now? Why is it that all of the sudden I’m so interested in these things?” Those are a few other questions I will have to seek answers for.

I’ve also been reading more about the Sabbath and how that relates to Christianity today. I had a conversation with my siblings the other night about just this topic. My thought is that if it was important enough to be in the 10 commandments, there must be a good reason for it! I hope that I can find satisfactory answers to my questions. One thing I know for sure: everything happens for a reason and these thoughts and tugs to my heart are no exception.

“‘For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.'” –Jeremiah 29:11-13

“So I say to you, ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.” –Luke 11:9

Also, I bought a couple of these. Regardless of what I find in Scripture, these are beautiful scarves!

