I have been busy lately attempting to pull together the August edition of my Soroptimist club’s newsletter. That is why I have not had the time to write lately, although I’m not sure there is much to tell.

Last Saturday, some guys from my “tribe” at Dox came over and helped us um, “refurbish” our chicken coop and build a run. It is not yet finished, but most of the work has been done. I will take a picture of it tomorrow and post it here. The coop needs little more than a little bit of cosmetic work now that the faulty wood has been replaced as well as the roof. The run needs only the chicken wire to be secured on the frame. Even the door is in place. Mark has been hard at work coming in even when we are not home to finish the job. He has been very kind to do it with little pay but a good lunch on Saturday, a half-pint of nectarine jam and a loaf of homemade bread. Thankfully he enjoyed them all quite well.

I didn’t have the time to go out with the camera while they were all hard at work (as I was too, making homemade pizza and blueberry cobbler) otherwise I would have gotten some really good pictures of the work party here. It was a good time.

I am absorbed in my latest book, A Return to Modesty by Wendy Shalit and read it every chance I get at work. Thankfully my lunch is an hour long and I can pull up two chairs in a quiet, secluded spot: one for me and one for my legs and get fairy comfortable for my reading. The area is also near windows, almost all on one side, so I get plenty of natural light most of the time.

Today it was kind of cloudy. It even rained some in the morning and on my way home. I hope it won’t rain tomorrow as well. It’s feeling more like fall lately than middle of summer. I half expect leaves to start falling soon!

The chickens are crazy as ever and are now mini chickens. They have almost all of their full grown-chicken feathers and all the personality. They seem to be quite fond of corn and grasses from the nearby field. They love the little seedy things at the top of the grass. Hubby brought home some sawdust today and put it in their little enclosure and they looked really silly rolling over it. It reminds me a lot of our cat when she gets her catnip toy. Perhaps it’s chicken-nip?

Well, this will have to do as an update for now. The hubby is reminding me of how I need to spend more time with him. Somehow I think I ought to be the one remarking such things and not he. It seems our roles have been reversed. :) Anyway, I don’t want to keep him too long. We really don’t get that much time together considering our different work schedules.

Maybe tomorrow I will have something more enlightening to say.

Buenas noches!

