There is so much talk in the Christian community over Sarah Palin. I am not a republican and would not have been inclined to vote for McCain/Palin anyway, but the question that has been stirred up in the Christian blogsphere remains – should the Christian-Bible-believing community vote for a woman to hold office? Is it biblical? Many people have very differing opinions on this, even in my own family, but how are the Scriptures to be interpreted in this matter?

I have been on a spiritual journey recently, in which I am learning to find value in things of old, the old paths, as it were. I have been searching the words of the sages, the ancients, the ways of old.

Jeremiah 6:16 – “Here is what the LORD says: “Stand at the crossroads and look; ask about the ancient paths, ‘Which one is the good way?’ Take it, and you will find rest for your souls.”

I am enjoying rediscovering the Jewish roots of my faith and reading what solid Christians before me have written, and being strengthened in my faith by what I find. So what is it that I have learned so far, that would apply in this situation? Well, I have long been convicted by the Ruach HaKodesh (Holy Spirit) about the social order that the Lord put in place for men and women. This is just one reason why I have explored and been blessed by my study (and experiments) in headcoverings. I believe it is Biblically correct that women should be supporters and helpers of men in leadership roles, but they should not be leaders themselves. Can they? Of course! They have every ability to lead and some do it well. But the real question is should they? And to that I have to say, no. The order which was established by the Lord since the beginning is that the man leads and the woman is his support. We were created for this role!

Genesis 2:18 – “The LORD God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.”

This does not only apply for spiritual matters, as some suggest. I believe it’s the natural order of things, and when we can shed this feminist mindset that ‘we should do everthing men can do’, we will see that we are happiest only when we are standing in obedience to the will of the Lord. There are many other verses in scriptures that speak of leaders and civil mandates, but I will link to articles of those who are more articulate than I am, so as to avoid confusion. One thing to remember, the scriptures are the Lord’s words to us, his manual for how we should live.

Sarah Palin and the Complementarian Compromise
A long but detailed article. Well-written.

Life In A Shoe’s views on Palin
Read the article and comments for differing views and opinions.

A Vote For A Curse?
Scroll to below the “Your Vote Counts” pin.

Some might think my opinion is extreme, but aren’t we called to a higher standard? Shouldn’t we be extreme in our way of thinking and acting? Is it really extreme or has our society fallen so below the standards the Lord has given to us that it only seems extreme?

