Yes, that’s right. Apple butter-sauce. I got all geared up yesterday to make something of the baskets and baskets of apples we have in our dining room so I thought I would make apple butter. I even picked up some of the fallen apples from under our tree to add to the mix, but when I got started I decided to start with those since they were sweeter (most likely) than the green apples from the other baskets.

So, since I have no apple peeler-machine yet, I used my paring knife to peel, cut and core the apples for the sauce. It took me 4 hours to get through about 3 or 4 pounds of apples – and they were all the ones from under our tree. At some point near the end of the small box I cut my left-hand index finger. It was a pretty deep cut although small in size. I think I even saw some subcutaneous tissue, but it was bleeding so much it was hard to see. I probably should have gone in to get a stitch or two, but I still had a lot of apples to peel and so I just kept on at it. It was nothing a band-aid and some antibiotic ointment couldn’t fix, certainly. The thumb on my right hand is pretty torn-up too, from catching the blade after the peel. I’ve got little cuts all over it. Well, that’s just what happens when you hand-peel a box of apples.

Anyway, by the time dh got home I had just finished peeling and was transferring the apples to the pot to boil. Following a recipe for crockpot apple butter except modifying it for stove-top purposes and adding in bits of info from the web, it took me about an hour and a half to get that part done and the apple butter ready for canning only I don’t have a food mill and so my apple butter looks more like apple sauce. It’s thick and a little chunky, so I’m calling it apple butter-sauce.

So there I was with a half a pot full of apple butter-sauce and it was about 10:45 pm or so, but I couldn’t well leave it in the pot so although I hadn’t thought this far ahead, nor thought it would be this late at night when I finished, I brought out my canning jars and transfered the apple butter to other smaller pots so I could use the large one for my water bath. As the water bath heated up, I put the jars in there to get them sanitized while I looked for new lids and the rings. After sanitizing, I filled the jars with the apple butter-sauce and processed them in the water bath. By the time I was done processing them it was nearly one o’clock.

Tired, worn out and with my kitchen still in disarray, I went to bed to try to get as much sleep as possible so I could make the bus at 7 am this morning. When I get home tonight I am going to have to do some damage control in the kitchen and guess what? I still have baskets of apples in my dining room. Thankfully I bought an apple peeler/corer/slicer on ebay a few days back so maybe it’ll be on its way soon and I can get those apples processed and stored for winter.

What else can you do with apples? Apple butter, apple sauce, apple pie filling…? Anything else? I guess apple juice and apple cider, but I’ll have to search the web for info on how to make that happen…

There’s so much to do this time of year.

