It’s snowing again.

These past couple weeks have been really strange as far as weather is concerned. There has been so much snow and freezing rain in Portland that they’ve had to cancel flights and several freeways are closed, too. There are inches of ice on the roads up there and all the way down to about Salem. Then, the strangest thing – just south of Salem it’s about 10-15 degrees warmer with not a trace of snow or ice, just rain.

Thankfully down here we haven’t had it half as bad as other places, but I’m worried that if this keeps up through next week we might have a hard time getting my brother home from the airport – that is, if his flight doesn’t get cancelled first.

The nice thing (if you don’t have to travel) is that there’s a chance we’ll have more snow throughout the rest of the week. I’ve been checking the reports and it doesn’t look like there ought to be snow coming down right now, but it should snow again Tues night and Wednesday. I love the snow.

In fact, I took pictures of some of the snow we had last week because it was so pretty. I love it when the trees are covered in snow. Unfortunately, so was my car. It took forever to get that snow off and my fingers froze. Oh the price we pay for pretty things!

Last night was the first night of Hanukkah. I lit my Hanukkiah, recited the blessings and ate some latkes (with my dinner, of course). I made potato laktes, which are traditional, and some matzo meal and cottage cheese latkes that would be great to have around for passover. I’m glad I tried the recipe first though, because I will have to modify it a little bit so that they come out better next time. Apparently when the recipe says to mince an onion, it means a lot smaller than little squares. It means teeny tiny squares. And I think I put way too much onion in it anyway even though it called for a whole onion, because it wasn’t staying in the batter and there were pieces of onion floating around the oil. Lots of them. But they were still tasty latkes, just chunky. The potato ones, though, oh my! They were awesome. Hubby gave them two thumbs up!

But aside from the food, it was great to look at the lights from the Hanukkiah and remember the bravery it took for the Jews to stand up to those who would force them to Hellenize and turn their backs on their G-d. Had they not stood up for themselves and their faith, would there be any Jews left? Would they all have dissappeared? Assimilated? Had they not fought for their belief in the L-rd would there have been a Miriam or Yosef to raise Yeshua in a scripturally sound way? To teach Him in the ways of the L-rd? Probably not. But the L-rd would not have let that happen in order to keep His word:

“Thus says the LORD: If you can break my covenant with the day and my covenant with the night, so that day and night will not come at their appointed time, then also my covenant with David my servant may be broken…” Jeremiah 33:20-21

So if His covenant with David can’t be broken while day and night exists on this earth, then we know His word still stands and He would protect His people so that His promises would be fulfilled.

And could you imagine being those faithful Jews? It must have seemed that everyone was up against you. It must have seemed impossible to win. It must have seemed like a suicidal mission. And yet, all things are possible with the L-rd, and they were able to see that first-hand as they won back their city and rededicated the Temple to the One who was faithfully taking care of them, as they were faithful to Him.

So as I watched the lights flicker on my Hanukkiah, my heart grew thankful. Thankful that there was a faithful remnant who would not conform to their surroundings and would not give up their faith, a faith that has now been passed down to me.

I can only pray should I be faced with a similar situation that I would stand as firm in my faith as they.

