I have been reading Tim Hegg’s “It Is Often Said…” booklets and in Volume 4 he talks about the two main differing theologies which govern the mainstream Christian body, covenant theology and dispensational theology, and although I have heard the jist of both, and believed in either at some point or another, I really appreciated seeing them compared to the picture of the olive tree used by Paul.

Here’s a snippet:

Rather than replacing Israel, or setting Israel aside temporarily, this approach sees the ingathering of the Gentiles as expanding Israel.  Covenant theology would have the tree cut down and onther planted in its place.  Dispensational theology would leave the olive tree standing, but would plant a second tree alongside it.  As we examine the text, however, we see that Paul’s picture is of wild branches (believing Gentiles) being grafted into the original olive tree.  Not replacement and not something new and separate, but seeing the remnant within Israel as a foreshadowing of the final salvation of the eschaton, when all Israel will be saved.  (Vol. 4, pg. 36)

Being a very visual person, this really helped me to get the full scope of each of these theologies and their damage to the picture portrayed in Romans. 

I’m glad that I’m reading through these booklets because there is more now that I’m able to put into words.  Before, I had such a hard time translating from heart and mind to English for others what I had learned from Scripture.  

Loving G-d with all your mind to me means being able to state what it is you believe and why, so I’m glad to find resources which help bring about the knowledge that would enable others to also see what I see in Scripture.  I’m sure that’s a small part, at least, of making disciples of the nations.

