When I have a desire to make a new skirt, the first thing to think about is what kind of pattern I’m going to need.  Is it going to be a long skirt, A-line, straight, wrap, etc?  How is it going to fasten?  Will it be elastic, drawstring, zipper, buttons, straps?

For the following skirt pattern, I decided to go for a long, fitted, a-line skirt with a zipper on the back.  At some point I’m going to use this pattern to make a khaki skirt, but since I at least have the pattern ready, I’ll show you what I did to make it.

I learned how to make this particlar pattern from a book about making skirts which was a great tool for a beginner seamstress such as myself.  I forget the name of the book now, but I’ll come back (once I get off work) and enter it here.  It’s called Sew What! Skirts: 16 Simple Styles You Can Make With Fabulous Fabrics

Tape together a couple sheets of newspaper, if you desire a longer skirt.

Okay, so first I get some newspaper and tape it together to the approximate lenth of the skirt I want.  A little longer, even.

Marking the top of the skirt.

Half an inch from the top of where I’d like the pattern to start I make a mark.  This is point A.  A half-inch under that, I make another mark. This is point B.  These marks are going to help you curve the waistline of your skirt.

Mark the length of your skirt.

The next mark you want to make is for the desired length of your skirt from point B, plus the seam allowance.  (The seam allowance is basically the amount of fabric you subtract from the final length of the skirt because of the stitching, like the hem or the waistband of the skirt.  There is a formula for this, which I’ll plug in here when I get home tonight.)  This is point C. Okay, the desired length is how long you want the skirt to be, plus 1″ for the hem and 1/2″ for the waist seam allowance.

Marking the waistline point

The next point to mark, is the width of the waistline.  This is point D. This is where you want your skirt to fall on your midsection, whether that’s your actual waistline or your hips is up to you.  Add in the seam allowance.  To get this number, measure your waistline, add in 1-2 inches for ease, and 2″ for the seam allowance, then divide by 4.  This point is going to go along the top of your pattern, to the right of point A.  For me, that was 8 1/2 inches from point A.

Next, from point B, draw a line with a slight curve up towards point D.  This marks the natural curve of your waistline.

I forgot to take a picture of the next few steps, but you’ll be able to see them summarized in a bit.  I used Paint to illustrate the pattern instructions in the picture, but don’t make fun of my silly letters.  I  can’t draw in Paint.  :(

You’re going to make another point below B which is the distance from your waistline to the widest point of your hips plus 1/2″ seam allowance at the waist.  This is usually something like 6-9 inches, depending on how low or high your waistline is.  This is point E.   Mark it on your pattern under point B.

Measure your hips at their widest point, add 2-4″ for ease plus 2″ for the seam allowance, then divide by four .  This will be point F.  Draw a mark on your pattern to the right of point E. 

 

From point D, draw a line through point F, to end at your skirt’s desired length (point G).  Then, taking your ruler/yardstick,  move it along the top curved line and mark in several points the desired length of the skirt.  Connect those dots with a line. 

Cut out your finished pattern.

Yay! You now have a pattern.  Cut it out.  You will use this to cut out your fabric later.

Does this make sense?  I think I will have to come back later and revise it…

