So when you start hearing teachers giving credence to the rabbinic writings or even to early Christian documents (e.g., Shepherd of Hermas, the Didache, the Apostolic Constitutions) as though they are authoritative or give us the definitive interpretation of the Scriptures, beware! If you are told that your obedience to God’s commandments is not complete unless your halachah conforms to this rabbinic dictum or that rabbinic tradition, watch out! You are being led down a slippery slope that ends in submission to the traditions of men as having equal authority with the Scriptures. Rather, like the Bereans of old, who “received the word with great eagerness, examining the Scriptures daily to see whether these things were so,” put everything you hear against the infallible word of God. What conforms to the Scriptures, accept; what does not, reject. Let the word of God be your sole authority for knowing what pleases God. A person determines if a stick is crooked by putting it next to a straight stick. Let the Bible be your straight stick.  — Tim Hegg, The Sufficiency of Scripture.

Can I hear an ‘Amen’?

I’m so glad I get these newsletters from Torah Resource.  I find there is good teaching to be found there.  It’s balanced and conforms to the Word. 

The community of believers that I fellowship with also have good teaching and it’s nice to be able to bounce ideas and thoughts off each other when we do get together.  The congregation, Doxology, is not Messianic or Torah-observant, but I am still grateful for the fellowship and the teaching I receive.  In fact, I don’t know of any other person in Corvallis who is Messianic or Torah-observant.  Still, I am grateful for any fellowship with believers where we can talk about scriptures and living a life that glorifies the L-rd.

For a few weeks now we have been studying the minor prophets.  A couple weeks ago I read a blog post about Habakkuk.  It caught my attention since I had never before read Habakkuk, so I set myself to reading the book before bed (they say you retain more information when you read at night).  His inability to understand injustice or why HaShem would allow it to happen.  His change of heart, not towards G-d, but towards his circumstances.  His drawing nearer to HaShem in the midst of trouble, rejoicing the the G-d of his fathers.  Understanding His sovereignty.  Lovely, right?  Well, the following congregational meeting we read Habakkuk and last night as I sat with my Tribe (small group) we read Habakkuk again.  It seems to me that He might want me to absorb this book well.  I am reading Yirmeyahu (Jeremiah) as well and since both prophets lived around the same time, it’s interesting to see the contrast in writing.  There is so much to learn and by which to be changed.  Transformed.  Sanctified.  So I will keep reading. 

Thought of the day:

Look, I am HaShem, the G-d of every living creature; is there anything too hard for me?  – Yirmeyahu (Jeremiah) 32.27

What are you reading?

