On Monday afternoon I found out my dear little grandmother from Peru had passed away.  I had been meaning to fly out there and see her and my grandpa soon, but I guess I didn’t make it in time.  I haven’t seen this lady since I was about five years old, when my mom and sister and I took a trip there to visit them before coming to the States.  I’m glad I got to see her at least once in my life, but I was really hoping to see her again before her passing.  She and my grandfather have been wanting to see me for a long time, since they have already seen my brother (went out there for Thanksgiving this past year) and my sister (who has been there a time or two) I am the only one left they have yet to see again.  I think they have even seen my mom again. 

My dad flew out there the summer before he passed away to see his dad who was sick in the hospital.  He thought his dad would pass away and couldn’t allow it to happen without making amends and speaking to him about Messiah.  Turns out, grandpa is alive and well now but it was my dad’s time on this earth that was cut short.  Thankfully, grandpa came to know Messiah during my dad’s time out there and they made amends.  It was my grandma (who is actually my dad’s step-mom) who urged my dad to go to church when he was just a young boy, and took very good care of him throughout his youth.  It was through his stepmom (my grandma) that my dad came to know Messiah.  

As a way to honor my dad, I lit a candle for my grandma.  I hope this honors them both. I am very, very sad that I didn’t get to see her before she passed.  There would have been so very much I would have asked her and spoken to her about had I had the chance.  I also said the prayer for tragic news:  Blessed are you, HaShem our G-d, King of the universe, the True Judge.  This acknowledges His sovereignty in all aspects of life, even death.

Needless to say, I wasn’t in a very festive mood for Purim.  I didn’t do anything special that night as I had planned, and I didn’t attend the Purim party at the synagogue.  I just came home, read about mourning and lit a candle for my grandma.  Can one sit shiva for a grandparent they’ve only seen once?  I certainly felt like it.  Since I can’t, for work reasons, I’m wearing something black and lighting a candle in my grandma’s memory for seven days. 

I haven’t heard of what the plans are for the funeral yet and will have to get in touch with my family as soon as they know about it.

On another note, my mother-in-law will be visiting us for a few days and her flight is scheduled to arrive tonight.  I will leave work early today and hubby will come pick me up to drive up there together.  I am looking forward to her visit, though I will only get next Monday off work to spend the time with her.  She and dh will take a trip out to central Oregon on Thursday and Friday though, so I won’t feel so bad about not getting those days off work.   We do have quite a bit of fun planned though, and you can be sure of pictures, too.

