11weeks

Baby feet and legs at 11 weeks

Psalm 139: 13-16

13For you formed my inward parts;
   you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.
14I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works;
   my soul knows it very well.
15My frame was not hidden from you,when I was being made in secret,
   intricately woven in the depths of the earth.
16Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them,
   the days that were formed for me,
   when as yet there was none of them.

Twenty-seven years ago today my mom and dad held me in their arms for the first time.  Twenty-seven years ago today I was given the gift of life, of breath, by the Life-Giver Himself.  As I reflect on what that really means I feel so blessed to have been given such a gift and entrusted with it for so many wonderful years!  Am I worthy of such a gift?  Surely not, but I’m definitely grateful for it.

This year I have been twice blessed as not only have I been entrusted with my own life, but also for the life deep inside me, growing safely hidden within my womb.  Whether or not this life is brought out into the world and given twenty-seven years of its own, I marvel at the gift I have been given so far.  It is far above and beyond the most wonderful gift I could ever imagine and still I marvel at how the Life-Maker Himself is knitting within me the life of a little human being, and has chosen me to be its mother.

Amazing, wonderful and definitely awe-inspiring.  May I just say, this is the best birthday gift ever?!

