One of my favorite Fall/Winter meals is Lentils and Rice.  From the time I was a young girl I remember my mom making this dish on those cold and wintery Southern California evenings, you know, like when it was 65 degrees out.  :)  It was comforting, though, having this delicious meal and now I get to make it for my husband and I on those rainy Oregon evenings (which is most of 9 months out of the year).  Thankfully the hubby likes it as much as I do.

Here’s how I make it:

Ingredients:
1.5 cups dry Lentils
Water
2 Tb oil
1/2 med onion, chopped small
1 tsp minced garlic
2 roma tomatoes, chopped small
1 tsp cumin
2 Tbs salt
1 tsp Pepper
1/4 cup chopped parsley

Directions:
In a medium saucepan, place lentils and cover with water. Bring to a boil then cover and simmer until done, approximately 30 minutes. You don’t want a lot of water left in the pan. If needed, uncover the last few minutes of cooking to let the water evaporate.
In a separate skillet, heat oil then add onions and garlic. Allow to soften, or until garlic is lightly browned. Add seasonings and tomatoes. Cook down until the tomatoes soften and it becomes kind of saucy. Add the parsley.
Mix the onion mixture with the lentils when they are fully cooked. The extra salt in the onion mixture should be enough to season the lentils. If not, add a little more salt. Optionally, add a chicken bouillon cube to the lentil mixture and mix well.
Serve with rice and a salad on the side.
Yum!

We love this dish and I hope you like it too. I’m typing this up trying to remember approximations of what i normally do in the kitchen since I don’t actually follow a recipe most of the time. If you try this recipe and something seems out of whack please let me know so I can fix the recipe. Also, go by taste. If it’s not tasting good then add your own touch. This is a very flexible recipe!

Another thing you could do too is brown some beef strips with the onions and garlic before adding all the seasonings. I’m sure that would make a nice addition to this dish.

Bon appetit!

