One of my favorite new things to cook during cold weather is Winter Vegetable Hash.  It’s a delicious combination of potatoes, squash, kale and other yummies all brought together in a delectable feast for your palate.  Whenever I make this dish for others I always hear compliments and “how did you make it?”  Well, I can’t take credit for the recipe, but I’ll sure take credit for making a meal people enjoy.

Here’s the recipe:

Winter Vegetable Hash

3 Tb olive oil
2 Tb butter (or vegan alternative)
1 lb Yukon Gold potatoes, diced
1/2 lb fresh shiitake mushrooms, diced (I prefer cremini)
1 red bell pepper, diced
1 small acorn squash, diced (I use whatever squash I have on hand. Often it’s hubbard)
1 shallot, finely chopped (I’ve used half a small red onion before, too)
2 tsp garlic powder
1 pinch salt
1 pinch black pepper
1 cup chopped kale
4 sprigs fresh sage

1. Place oil and butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Melt butter and mix in potatoes, mushrooms, pepper, squash and shallot. Season with garlic powder, salt and pepper. Cook 25 minutes, stirring occasionally, until potatoes are tender.
2. Mix kale and sage into skillet. Continue cooking 5 minutes, until kale is wilted. Serve and enjoy!

Note: personally, I prefer to brown the potatoes a bit before adding the squash, then allowing that to cook a few minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients. I don’t like dead mushrooms, ya know? I also prefer to make my kale fairly smallish, so you can taste all the other ingredients when you take a mouthful, too. I’ve made it without the fresh sage in a pinch, but you really shouldn’t forgo the sage. It really adds that extra something!

Look for this and other squash recipes at Tammy’s In-Season Recipe Swap.

