Arroz Tapado

Fall veggies are delicious!  I’m anticipating the upcoming recipe exchange at my house by going through my recipes and marking the Fall dishes I love best.  Among the runners up are:

  • Rustic Roasted Root Vegetables
  • Latkes!
  • Baked Acorn Squash
  • Winter Vegetable Hash
  • Pumpkin Frittata
  • Lighting Fast Eggplant Parmesan
  • Hedgehog Leek and Cheese Quiche
  • Wild Mushroom Risotto
  • Peruvian Lentils and Rice
  • Chili-Cornbread Casserole
  • Mediterranean Stuffed Eggplant
  • Mushroom Barley Soup
  • Quinoa Corn Chowder
  • Matza Ball Soup
  • Black Bean Veggie Chili
  • Vegan Pumpkin Stew (cooked in a pumpkin)
  • Aji de Gallina (chili chicken)
  • Locro (squash and corn dish).

Oh man, this is gonna be tough.

On another note, I bought a cookbook today that I thought would be JUST AWESOME called The Farm to Table Cookbook, but looking at the Fall section, there were only like 3 recipes that I thought I would realistically try.  All the recipes are so fancy lookin’ and soundin’ that I just couldn’t really see myself making them.  For example: Mostarda D’Uva with Artisan Cheese or Roasted Duck Breast With Bourbon-Braised Italian Prunes.  Yeah, right.  Like I’m making that for dinner any time soon!  On the other hand, they had a decent looking winter squash soup and some wild mushroom recipes that I’m definitely eyeing.  I hope the other seasons have better recipes.

