Summer is definitely coming to a close.  The air is turning crisp, the leaves are beginning to change and we’ve even gotten a rain or two.  Soon there’ll be a calmer pace to our days, but for now the frenzy of summer continues with food preservation and preparing the homestead for the colder days.

I haven’t posted much so I thought I’d give a little recap of what’s been going on in the homestead this summer.

I didn’t think it would be possible, but Hezzy got even cuter.  He learned to sit up, stand, army crawl, loves to practice walking, jump, and can say mama and dada.

We went to the Scandinavian festival in Eugene and to Florence (the coast) in the same day.  It was Hezzy’s second trip to the coast since he was born.  Thankfully, he didn’t get a cold afterwards this time.

We went to the Zimbabwe Festival in town and got to see a lot of hippies in African clothes attempting to dance.  You must go see hippies dancing to African music if you get the chance.

Then we went to the Art and Air Festival in Albany with the Seavers.  Little Gabe was there and he was sitting up on his own, too!

A friend of mine took some pictures of Hezzy at the park and got some really lovely shots.

On the more serious side, we had to “use” three roosters from our flock and two hens who were unproductive.  We did it all in-house.

This one was my favorite rooster.  He was so beautiful!  Our friend Pete helped us process most of the birds, although I did the very first one myself.  We let the blood drain into a bucket while the bird thrashed and let Tippy have the head, feet and other parts I was unable or unwilling to use.

I finally finished painting the cabinet doors from our kitchen cabinets.  That has been a work in progress since we moved to this house about three years ago.  I got all the doors on the bottom cabinets in but the top cabinet doors are still waiting to be put in.  Ah.  Someday this will be done and then I will rejoice!

There was also much line drying.  Have you ever tried hanging laundry by moonlight?  Oh, it’s lovely!  It can be very relaxing and soothing too, unless you drop something and it falls on chicken poop.  Then it’s not so relaxing, but if you don’t have chickens that shouldn’t be a problem.

There has been much baking and cooking, too.  I recently tried my hand at baking challah in a loaf pan.  It worked marvelously!

I tried out some new recipes.  This one is Salmon and Swiss Chard Quiche.  Not my favorite, but definitely has potential.  Thankfully I’m sure swiss chard will continue to be around for a while here and I can attempt this again with my own twist.

Blueberry Cobbler from nearby-picked blueberries since our own blueberries didn’t get to grow on account of naughty chickens.  This piece is definitely more cobbler than blueberry, but there ya have it.  It was still delicious!

I’ve also been canning tomatoes and as soon as our apples ripen there will be lots of apple sauce, apple butter and apple pie filling to can.  Next year I hope our garden will be bigger and produce more so we can start preserving our food earlier in the season.

What have you been up to this summer?

